Barska
Barska Tall Fireproof Protection Safe in 3 sizes, 8.48 cu ft, 11.87 cu ft, 19.97 cu ft, Long gun rack, keypad: AX12216, AX12218, AX12220
Barska Tall Fireproof Protection Safe in 3 sizes, 8.48 cu ft, 11.87 cu ft, 19.97 cu ft, Long gun rack, keypad: AX12216, AX12218, AX12220
Couldn't load pickup availability
Share

AX12216 (Small) - External Dimensions - 59.06"H × 20"W × 18"D - 273lbs
AX12218 (Medium) - External Dimensions - 59.06"H × 28"W × 20"D - 358.6lbs
AX12220 (Large) - External Dimensions - 59.06"H × 40"W × 22"D - 491lbs
Three cabinets of the same height and the same build, in three widths. Each stands just under five feet tall, with a gypsum board fire lining behind steel walls, a keypad lock with two backup keys, and an interior tall enough to store things upright that a house otherwise has to lay down.
Choose the width that suits the room and what you're keeping in it. The Small holds 8.48 cubic feet, the Medium 11.87 and the Large 19.97. The Small is rated for 40 minutes at 1,200°F, and the Medium and Large for up to an hour. Each comes fitted with a long-gun rack of 14, 30 or 45 positions and removable shelving, so the inside can be set up for firearms, for files and equipment, or for both.
What it holds
Room for long guns standing in the rack, the tripod and hard cases that have no cupboard, and the folder of serial numbers and receipts that proves any of it is yours.
Specifications
Interior
Interior dimensions
Small: 57.44"H × 18.39"W × 13.87"D
Medium: 56.1"H × 25.04"W × 14.6"D
Large: 56.1"H × 37.05"W × 16.6"D
Interior volume, calculated: Small 8.48 cu ft · Medium 11.87 cu ft · Large 19.97 cu ft
Rifle rack, quoted without scopes or accessories: Small 14 positions · Medium 30 · Large 45
Shelving: Small, one removable shelf. Medium and Large, removable shelves and dividers; number of shelves not stated by the manufacturer.
Inner locking box: none
Interior finish: Small, upholstered lining
Door organizer: door pouches
Exterior & siting
Exterior dimensions
Small: 59.06"H × 20"W × 18"D
Medium: 59.06"H × 28"W × 20"D
Large: 59.06"H × 40"W × 22"D
Weight: Small 273 lbs · Medium 358.6 lbs · Large 491 lbs. These are Barska's figures for the cabinet. The weight on the pallet is higher, and that's the number the carrier works to.
Anchoring: mounting hardware included
Clearance: front-opening door. Leave room in front for it to swing fully open.
Wheels: none
Security
Lock: electronic keypad, one PIN code
Override: two backup keys
Locking bolts: Small, three steel deadbolts · Medium, six steel deadbolts · Large, six live bolts and four deadbolts. Diameter not stated by the manufacturer.
Door assembly thickness: Not stated by the manufacturer.
Wall: 0.08" steel over a gypsum board fire lining
Hinges: not stated by the manufacturer.
Alarm and lockout: lockout after repeated wrong entries, low-battery warning, silent mode
Firearm storage: the Small is listed on the California Department of Justice's approved firearm safety device chart as Barska AX12216 FV-1000, in the Safe category (we read the chart on 20 September 2026). For the Medium and Large, Barska state they're approved by the California DOJ for storage.
Fire, water & media
Fire rating: Small, 40 minutes at 1,200°F · Medium and Large, up to 1 hour at 1,200°F. As stated by the manufacturer; certifying body not stated.
Media / data rating: Not a media safe.
Water rating: None claimed.
The rest
Power: four AA batteries, not included
Warranty: one year limited
Manufacturer part number: AX12216 (Small) · AX12218 (Medium) · AX12220 (Large)
UPC: 790272000029 (Small) · 790272000036 (Medium) · 790272000043 (Large)
Finish: Small, black · Medium and Large, gloss black
In the box: rifle rack, removable shelving, two backup keys, mounting hardware
The fire rating
A rating like this means a cabinet of the same design was heated in a furnace to 1,200°F, and the inside stayed cool enough to protect paper for the full time: 40 minutes for the Small, up to an hour for the Medium and Large.
The protection comes from the gypsum board in the walls. Gypsum holds water, and in a fire that water turns to steam and carries heat away from the interior. Once the water is used up, the protection ends. Heat also rises, so a cabinet this tall holds out longer on a ground floor than in an upstairs room under the roof.
The rating is for paper, which chars at around 350°F. Hard drives, batteries and lens coatings are damaged at far lower temperatures, around 125°F, so don't rely on any of the three to protect them in a fire.
Getting it in and setting it up
All three stand 59.06 inches tall, so width is the measurement to take first.
Small, 20 inches wide. Clears a standard 30-inch interior door with room to spare.
Medium, 28 inches wide. Clears a standard 36-inch front door. Interior doors run 30 to 32 inches, which leaves an inch or so each side and no room for hands.
Large, 40 inches wide. Won't go through a doorway facing forward. It goes through sideways, and then the 22-inch depth is the measurement that counts. That clears a 36-inch front door, but a dolly behind the cabinet adds several inches, so measure interior doors too.
On a staircase, measure the turn as well as the doorway. A rigid five-foot cabinet needs diagonal room to get round a corner, and that's usually the tighter question.
From the curb, the Small and Medium are a job for two people and a stair-climbing dolly. The Large, at 491 lbs, needs a moving crew or a safe mover with equipment rated for the weight. Tell them about any steps on the route; even three steps count as stairs to a mover.
A standard house floor carries any of the three without difficulty. Set it across the joists rather than along a single one, near a load-bearing wall if you can choose. Then bolt it down. A cabinet this tall will tip if it's pulled at, so anchoring is about the room as much as about theft, and the hardware is in the box.
What this is not
No safe is entirely fireproof. "Fireproof" and "fire resistant" are words you'll find on listings everywhere, ours among them. What exists is a rating: 40 minutes or up to an hour at 1,200°F, depending on size, measured in a furnace.
Not a media safe. Media safes keep the inside below 125°F. These are built to protect paper.
Not water rated. No water rating is claimed. A house fire is usually followed by a lot of water from the hoses.
Not a burglary-rated safe. No UL burglary rating is claimed. The steel is 0.08 inches thick, and most of the wall is fire lining. Bolted down, any of the three will stop a casual thief. They aren't built to hold out against someone with tools and time.
One code only. The keypad stores one PIN. If more than one person needs access, they share the code or use one of the two backup keys.
Batteries not included. Each takes four AA.
On the maker
Barska began in 1994 making sports optics, such as binoculars and riflescopes, and later added safes. For these cabinets they publish the steel thickness, the bolt count, and the conditions behind the gun count, printed right beside the number. That's the information you need to judge a safe like this, and it's why we're comfortable quoting their figures.
If you need a detail that isn't listed here, such as door thickness or which side the hinges are on, ask us and we'll put the question to Barska.
Questions
Which size should I choose?
Start with the route in and the room it will stand in, then what you're keeping. The Small fits a closet or an office wall. The Medium takes a larger rack and still clears a front door facing forward. The Large is a cabinet for a room, with space for shelves of boxed files beside the rack. The fire rating is the other difference: 40 minutes on the Small, up to an hour on the Medium and Large.
How many rifles will actually fit?
Barska's figures of 14, 30 and 45 are for bare rifles, without scopes or accessories. Across the interior width that gives each rifle about 1.3 inches on the Small, and a little over 0.8 inches on the Medium and Large if the rack runs in a single row, which Barska don't state. A scoped rifle takes roughly the space of two bare ones, and a thumbhole stock or a thick recoil pad costs about the same. Height isn't a problem: with 56 inches or more inside, most long guns stand upright with room above. Tell us what you own and we'll help you work it out.
Can I take the rack out and use the full height?
On the Medium and Large the shelves and dividers are removable, and Barska's retail listings describe the Medium's rack as removable too. The Small's shelf is removable; whether its rack lifts out isn't stated. If that decides it for you, ask us before you order and we'll put the question to Barska.
Is the California DOJ approval current?
We read the DOJ's chart on 20 September 2026 and found the Small listed as Barska AX12216 FV-1000. For the Medium and Large, Barska state they're approved for storage. The DOJ updates its list from time to time, so check it when you buy. We're glad to point you at it.
Some listings show 18.88 cubic feet for the Large. Which figure is right?
The Large's interior measures 56.1 × 37.05 × 16.6 inches, which comes to 19.97 cubic feet. The outside works out to 30.08. 18.88 doesn't match either, so we don't use it.
Delivery
All three weigh over 150 lbs and ship by LTL freight.
Why inside delivery costs extra. A freight rate buys the truck and a liftgate to lower the pallet to the road. Walking a cabinet this heavy from the road into a room is a second job, done by a crew by the hour, so it's quoted separately.
Basic freight shipping includes
Residential curbside delivery. The pallet is left at the end of your driveway. Moving it from the curb to where it will stand is up to you, so have the equipment or the help ready before the truck arrives.
Business curbside delivery. The pallet is delivered to the nearest accessible point, such as a loading dock or the curb. Moving it into the building is up to you.
The carrier delivers on a pallet. Inside delivery, unboxing and removal of packaging are not part of the basic service.
Inside delivery (additional charge)
If you need the cabinet brought inside, contact us before you order for a quote.
Inside delivery, ground floor only. The crew brings it just inside the first door, such as a foyer, garage or lobby. This doesn't include other floors or placement in a specific room.
White glove, ground floor only. The crew brings it into the ground-floor room of your choice, unpacks it, protects your floors and takes the packaging away.
Freight terms
Phone number. A working phone number is required at checkout. We use it to confirm delivery details, and the carrier uses it to schedule the delivery.
Delivery time. Allow 7 to 14 business days. The carrier will call before delivery to set a time.
Inspection. Inspect the shipment before you sign the proof of delivery (POD). If anything is damaged or missing, note it on the POD, take photos and contact us right away.
Special locations. For HI, AK, VI or PR, or for weekend or after-hours delivery, contact us for a quote. Extra charges may apply for rural or unincorporated addresses.
Please see our return policy.