Hayman
Hayman BlackHills Tall Fire Resistant Safe - 5.22 cu ft Interior, 90-Minute Fire Rating, 16 Long Gun Capacity, BH 5922 E
Hayman BlackHills Tall Fire Resistant Safe - 5.22 cu ft Interior, 90-Minute Fire Rating, 16 Long Gun Capacity, BH 5922 E
Couldn't load pickup availability
Share

BH 5922 E - 59"H × 22"W × 16"D - 415 lbs
A tall safe on a modest footprint, 22 inches wide and 16 deep, with a 90-minute fire rating and a UL Residential Security Container label. Inside it stands 53.5 inches tall, with adjustable shelves and a storage system on the back of the door.
Hayman rate the rack for 16 long guns. Rack and shelves both adjust, so the same interior takes a cased rod, rolled drawings or a run of document boxes just as readily, and at 415 lbs it arrives as a freight delivery rather than an installation job.
What it holds
Room for a rifle in its soft case, a fly rod in its tube, and the passports that otherwise live in a kitchen drawer.
Specifications
Interior
53.5"H × 17.75"W × 9.5"D
Interior volume, calculated: 5.22 cu ft
Layout: adjustable gun rack and shelves; rated for 16 long guns
Door storage: storage system on the back of the door
Clear door opening: 51.75"H × 16.13"W
Exterior & siting
59"H × 22"W × 16"D
415 lbs
Anchoring: Not stated by the manufacturer.
Security
Lock: electronic; make and model not stated by the manufacturer
Locking bolts: three-way active boltwork, seven 1.25" active bolts plus three deadbolts
Relocker: yes, with a hardplate protecting the lock and relocker
Door assembly thickness: Not stated by the manufacturer. Door plate: 0.1875" steel
Wall thickness: 11-gauge steel body
Burglary rating: UL Residential Security Container (RSC) label
Handle: five-spoke
Fire, water & media
Fire rating: 90 minutes; test temperature and testing laboratory not stated by the manufacturer
Media / data rating: Not a media safe.
Water rating: None claimed.
The rest
Warranty: one year parts and labor; lifetime burglary guarantee
Manufacturer part number: BH 5922 E
Finish: black powder coat
Ninety minutes, and what it is for
A fire rating buys time. Ninety minutes is made for the fire that takes a while to reach and longer to put out: a house some distance from the nearest station, or one where nobody is home to raise the alarm. Hayman give the duration and do not publish the test temperature or the laboratory. Ask us and we'll find out.
Heat gathers at the ceiling, so the lowest floor of the house is the coolest place in a fire. If you have the choice, that is where this safe belongs.
What the RSC label means
UL tests a Residential Security Container against one person with ordinary hand tools, such as pry bars, hammers, screwdrivers and punches, for five minutes. A safe that passes carries the label. It is the line between a gun safe and a steel cabinet.
Behind the electronic lock sits a hardplate, to turn a drill, and a relocker: if the lock is punched or driven in, a second bolt fires and holds the boltwork shut. Seven active bolts, each 1.25 inches across, move on three sides of the door, with three further deadbolts that are fixed. The body is 11-gauge steel and the door a 0.1875-inch steel plate.
Delivery and Siting
At 415 lbs it ships by freight and is delivered to the curb by a liftgate truck, and the carrier will call ahead to arrange a delivery window, so someone will need to be home. The driver lowers it by liftgate to your curb or the end of your driveway. Freight drivers don't bring deliveries inside, up steps or into the garage.
So from the dropoff point, it is heavy work for two people, even with a stair-climbing hand truck, and if there are steps on the way in, many owners book a local safe mover for the last stretch.
If you'd like it brought inside and positioned, contact us after you order and we'll help you arrange it with a safe mover near you. That service is priced separately.
At 22 inches wide it clears any doorway in the house. Tall and narrow, it is easier to tip than a broad safe.
What this is not
It is not a deep safe. The interior runs 9.5 inches front to back, so check anything boxed against that figure before you plan the shelves.
It is not a media safe. The fire rating protects paper. Hard drives, USB sticks, memory cards and film need an interior held below 125°F, and this safe makes no such claim.
It is not water rated. No claim is made. A house fire usually brings a great deal of water from the hoses, so keep papers in sealed bags inside if that matters to you.
It is not a commercial burglary safe. The RSC label is a residential standard. Commercial ratings such as TL-15 test against power tools and drills for fifteen minutes or more, and this safe makes no such claim.
On the maker
Hayman Safe Company is a family-owned manufacturer in Oviedo, Florida, and has been making safes there since 1971. Their range runs from home fire safes to commercial safes rated to TL-30, sold largely through locksmiths and specialist safe dealers. BlackHills sits in the middle of their gun safe range. If you need a figure we haven't listed, ask us and we'll put the question to Hayman.
Questions
Will it fit in a closet?
Very likely. It needs a floor space 22 inches wide and 16 deep, 59 inches of height, and room in front for the door to swing open.
Who tested the fire rating?
Hayman give 90 minutes without naming a test temperature or a laboratory. Ask us and we'll find out.
Will it protect hard drives or USB sticks in a fire?
No. It is rated for paper. Digital media needs a safe rated to keep its interior below 125°F.
What does the warranty cover?
Hayman give a one-year parts and labor warranty and a lifetime burglary guarantee. Ask us for the full terms before you order and we'll get them from Hayman.