Hayman
Hayman BlackHills Fire Resistant Safe - 13.61 cu ft Interior, 90-Minute Fire Rating, 26 Long Gun Capacity, BH 5930 E
Hayman BlackHills Fire Resistant Safe - 13.61 cu ft Interior, 90-Minute Fire Rating, 26 Long Gun Capacity, BH 5930 E
Couldn't load pickup availability
Share

BH 5930 E - External Dimensions: 59"H × 30"W × 24"D - 650lbs
A safe 30 inches wide and just under five feet tall, with an interior nearly 17 inches deep: room for the papers, albums and valuables of a whole household. It carries a 90-minute fire rating and a UL Residential Security Container label.
Hayman rate the rack for 26 long guns. Rack and shelves both adjust, so the space can be divided between guns and everything else in whatever proportion your house needs, and there is a storage system on the back of the door for the small things.
What it holds
Room for the rifles in the rack, a banker's box of family papers on the shelf above, and your grandfather's watch on the door.
Specifications
Interior
53.88"H × 25.88"W × 16.88"D
Interior volume, calculated: 13.61 cu ft
Layout: adjustable gun rack and shelves; rated for 26 long guns
Door storage: storage system on the back of the door
Clear door opening: 51.88"H × 24.13"W
Exterior & siting
59"H × 30"W × 24"D
650 lbs
Anchoring: Not stated by the manufacturer.
Security
Lock: electronic; make and model not stated by the manufacturer
Locking bolts: three-way active boltwork, seven 1.25" active bolts plus three deadbolts
Relocker: yes, with a hardplate protecting the lock and relocker
Door assembly thickness: Not stated by the manufacturer. Door plate: 0.1875" steel
Wall thickness: 11-gauge steel body
Burglary rating: UL Residential Security Container (RSC) label
Handle: five-spoke
Fire, water & media
Fire rating: 90 minutes; test temperature and testing laboratory not stated by the manufacturer
Media / data rating: Not a media safe.
Water rating: None claimed.
The rest
Warranty: one year parts and labor; lifetime burglary guarantee
Manufacturer part number: BH 5930 E
Finish: black powder coat
Ninety minutes, and what it is for
A fire rating buys time. Ninety minutes is made for the fire that takes a while to reach and longer to put out: a house some distance from the nearest station, or one where nobody is home to raise the alarm. Hayman give the duration and do not publish the test temperature or the laboratory. Ask us and we'll find out.
What the RSC label means
UL tests a Residential Security Container against one person with ordinary hand tools, such as pry bars, hammers, screwdrivers and punches, for five minutes. A safe that passes carries the label. It is the line between a gun safe and a steel cabinet.
Behind the electronic lock sits a hardplate, to turn a drill, and a relocker: if the lock is punched or driven in, a second bolt fires and holds the boltwork shut. Seven active bolts, each 1.25 inches across, move on three sides of the door, with three further deadbolts that are fixed. The body is 11-gauge steel and the door a 0.1875-inch steel plate.
Delivery and Siting
At 650 lbs it ships by freight and is delivered to the curb by a liftgate truck. The carrier will call ahead to arrange a delivery window, so someone will need to be home. The driver lowers it by liftgate to your curb or the end of your driveway. Freight drivers don't bring deliveries inside, up steps or into the garage.
This safe is more than two people can move safely, so you will want a safe-moving crew with the right equipment to bring it in. If you'd like it brought inside and positioned, contact us after you order and we'll help you arrange it with a safe mover near you. That service is priced separately.
At 30 inches wide and 24 deep it goes through most doorways on its depth, with the handle adding a little to that. Measure the narrowest door on the route to its room. On an upper floor, have the floor looked at before it goes up.
What this is not
It is not a media safe. The fire rating protects paper. Hard drives, USB sticks, memory cards and film need an interior held below 125°F, and this safe makes no such claim.
It is not water rated. No claim is made. A house fire usually brings a great deal of water from the hoses, so keep papers in sealed bags inside if that matters to you.
It is not a commercial burglary safe. The RSC label is a residential standard. Commercial ratings such as TL-15 test against power tools and drills for fifteen minutes or more, and this safe makes no such claim.
On the maker
Hayman Safe Company is a family-owned manufacturer in Oviedo, Florida, and has been making safes there since 1971. Their range runs from home fire safes to commercial safes rated to TL-30, sold largely through locksmiths and specialist safe dealers. BlackHills sits in the middle of their gun safe range. If you need a figure we haven't listed, ask us and we'll put the question to Hayman.
Questions
Will it fit through my doors?
Most likely, turned on its 24-inch depth, plus the handle. Measure every doorway between the curb and the room it will live in.
Who tested the fire rating?
Hayman give 90 minutes without naming a test temperature or a laboratory. Ask us and we'll find out.
Will it protect hard drives or USB sticks in a fire?
No. It is rated for paper. Digital media needs a safe rated to keep its interior below 125°F.
What does the warranty cover?
Hayman give a one-year parts and labor warranty and a lifetime burglary guarantee.