{"product_id":"11-87-cubic-ft-tall-fireproof-safe-vault","title":"Barska Tall Fire Resistant Safe - 11.87 cu ft Interior, Keypad Entry, AX12218","description":"\u003cdiv class=\"rte text-size-regular\"\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eClose to twelve cubic feet of interior, standing fifty-six inches clear from floor to crown, behind an hour of fire lining. Most household safes are built around the drawer — papers, a watch box, the passports. This one is built around the things a house has nowhere to put: the tall, the long, the awkwardly shaped, stored upright rather than laid down.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eIt comes fitted as a gun cabinet, with a thirty-position rack, removable shelves and dividers, and pouches on the inside of the door. Barska state it is approved by the California Department of Justice for storage. The rack, the shelves and the dividers are all described as removable, so the column can be emptied out and used as one tall space.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eWhat it holds\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eRoom for long guns standing upright, the tripods and hard cases that have lived in a hallway because nothing else will take them, and the folder of serial numbers and receipts that proves any of it is yours.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eA note on the number\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eBarska states thirty positions, \u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003ewithout scopes or accessories\u003c\/i\u003e. Thirty across 25.04 inches of interior width is a little over eight-tenths of an inch apiece, which is an arithmetic that only closes with bare rifles nested tight against one another. Whether the rack runs as one row or two across the 14.6 inches of depth is not stated by the manufacturer. Add optics and the practical number falls — as a working rule a scoped rifle takes the width of two bare ones, and a thumbhole stock or a thick recoil pad costs about the same.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eSpecifications\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eInterior\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003e56.1\"H × 25.04\"W × 14.6\"D\u003cbr\u003eInterior volume, calculated: 11.87 cu ft\u003cbr\u003e30-position rifle rack, quoted without scopes or accessories\u003cbr\u003eRemovable shelves and dividers. The number of shelves is not stated by the manufacturer. Barska's retail listings describe the rack as removable as well.\u003cbr\u003eInner locking box: none\u003cbr\u003eDoor organizer: door-mounted pouches\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eExterior \u0026amp; siting\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003e59.06\"H × 28\"W × 20\"D\u003cbr\u003e358.6 lbs, which is Barska's figure for the cabinet. Freight listings commonly quote around 500 lbs; that is the weight on the pallet, and it is the number the carrier works to.\u003cbr\u003eAnchoring: mounting hardware included. Whether the pre-drilled holes sit in the base, the back or both is not stated by the manufacturer.\u003cbr\u003eClearance: front access. Allow for the door to swing clear of the frame. Hinge side not stated by the manufacturer.\u003cbr\u003eWheels: none.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eSecurity\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eLock: electronic keypad. One PIN code stored.\u003cbr\u003eOverride: two backup keys.\u003cbr\u003eLocking bolts: six steel deadbolts. Diameter and placement not stated by the manufacturer.\u003cbr\u003eDoor assembly thickness: not stated by the manufacturer. Barska publish a single figure for the steel — 2 mm, which is 0.08\" — without saying whether the door differs from the body.\u003cbr\u003eWall thickness: 0.08\" steel over a gypsum board fire lining.\u003cbr\u003eHinges: not stated by the manufacturer.\u003cbr\u003eAlarm and lockout: lockout after repeated incorrect entries, and a low-battery warning. A silent mode mutes the keypad tones.\u003cbr\u003eFirearm storage: Barska state the FV-2000 is approved by the California Department of Justice for storage. The Department's certified list is searchable on its own site and is revised from time to time, so check it against the day you buy. We are glad to point you at it.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eFire, water \u0026amp; media\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eFire rating: up to 1 hour at 1,200°F, as stated by the manufacturer. Certifying body: not stated by the manufacturer.\u003cbr\u003eMedia \/ data rating: \u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eNot a media safe.\u003c\/b\u003e This rating is built to protect paper. A drive, a battery or a lens needs an interior held below 125°F, and this is not built to that promise.\u003cbr\u003eWater rating: \u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eNone claimed.\u003c\/b\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eThe rest\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003ePower: four AA batteries, not included. Some listings show a 9V battery instead; Barska's own specification says four AA, and says they are not in the box.\u003cbr\u003eWarranty: one year limited.\u003cbr\u003eManufacturer part number: AX12218\u003cbr\u003eUPC: 790272000036\u003cbr\u003eFinish: gloss black\u003cbr\u003eIn the box: two backup keys, removable shelves and dividers, the 30-position rack, mounting hardware\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eWhat an hour covers\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eAn hour at 1,200°F means a cabinet of this pattern was closed, heated to that temperature in a furnace, and opened again with its interior still below the threshold the standard sets. It is a repeatable test, which is why it is worth printing.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eThe standard is written for paper: an interior held below the point at which paper chars, conventionally 350°F. Wood, adhesives, polymer stocks and lens seals have thresholds of their own that the paper test does not measure.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eThe protection comes from water. The gypsum board in these walls holds moisture within its structure; heat drives it out as steam, and the steam carries the energy away. The interior stays cool while there is moisture left to spend, and an hour is what this wall has to spend. Heat also gathers at the ceiling, so a fifty-nine-inch cabinet does better on a ground floor than in an upstairs room under the roof.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eSiting and delivery\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eTwenty-eight inches of width is the measurement to take first. A standard American front door is about 36 inches and will take it; interior doors run 30 to 32, which leaves an inch or so of air on each side and no room for hands. Measure the narrowest door on the route, then measure the turn at the top or bottom of any staircase — a rigid fifty-nine-inch object needs diagonal room on a turn, and that is usually the tighter question.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eThe floor is not a difficulty. Residential floors are framed for spread load, and 358 pounds over a 28 by 20 inch footprint sits well inside what one carries. Set it across the joists rather than along a single one, near a bearing wall if the choice is free. The height matters more than the weight: fifty-nine inches on a footprint that size will go over if it is pulled at, so anchor it. The hardware is in the box.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eIt arrives by LTL freight, on a pallet, lowered on a liftgate, at the curb. From there it is two people and a stair-climbing dolly — or, if you would rather not be one of the two, write to us before you order and we will quote you for a crew to bring it inside and set it where you want it. The delivery section below explains what the freight rate covers and why the rest is priced apart from it.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eWhat this is not\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eIt is not fireproof, whatever the trade calls it.\u003c\/b\u003e The word is a category convention and you will find it on listings everywhere, ours among them. What exists is a rating: up to one hour, 1,200°F, measured in a furnace.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eIt is not a media safe.\u003c\/b\u003e That standard asks for an interior below 125°F, because a drive, a battery or a lens coating is spent long before paper is. If what you are storing includes optics or electronics you would hate to lose, the rating here was not written with them in mind.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eIt is not water rated.\u003c\/b\u003e No claim is made and no seal is described. Worth knowing, since a house fire is generally followed by a great deal of water.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eIt is not a burglary-rated safe.\u003c\/b\u003e No UL burglary listing is claimed for the body or the door, and none is implied here. The steel measures 0.08 inches — 2 mm — and the mass in these walls is insulation rather than armor. Six deadbolts, a keypad and 358 pounds bolted through a floor will turn away an opportunist. A strongroom is a different class of object, and costs accordingly.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eIt stores one code.\u003c\/b\u003e One PIN, and two backup keys. In a household where more than one person needs to open it, that means a shared code or a key each — better settled in advance.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eIt does not arrive with batteries.\u003c\/b\u003e Four AA, and they are not in the box.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eOn the maker\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eBarska began in 1994 in sports optics — binoculars, riflescopes, spotting scopes — and came to safes afterwards, bringing a manufacturer's habits rather than a marketer's. It shows in the specification for this one, which prints \u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003ewithout scopes or accessories\u003c\/i\u003e in the same breath as the thirty-gun capacity. That qualification costs a sale now and then, and they print it anyway.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eThey sell broadly — sporting retail, hardware, the general market — and a specification written for that channel answers the questions that channel asks. A collector's questions are different ones: which way the hinges face, how many shelves come in the carton, what the door plate measures apart from the body. Where a figure we would have liked is not printed, we have said so above rather than guessed at it. If you need one of those answers before you commit, ask us and we will write to Barska for it.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eQuestions\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eHow many rifles will actually fit?\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eThirty bare ones, which is what the rack is built for and what Barska quote. With optics on, fewer — a scoped rifle takes roughly the width of two unscoped positions. Length is not the constraint: the interior stands 56.1 inches and most long guns run forty to fifty inches overall, so they stand upright with room above. Tell us what you own and we will work the width through with you.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eCan I take the rack out and use the full height?\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eBarska's retail listings describe the rack as removable, and the shelves and dividers are removable as well. What the fixings are, and whether anything remains in the column once the rack is out, is not stated in their specification. If that decides it for you, ask us before you order and we will put the question to them.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eCan two people have their own code?\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eNo. The lock stores one PIN. There are two backup keys, so a second person can be given a key rather than a code.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eWill it protect a hard drive or a scope in a fire?\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eNot to a standard anyone should rely on. The rating here is the paper rating. Batteries, coatings and lens seals need an interior held below 125°F, which is a different and more expensive class of cabinet.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eHow does it arrive, and can I get it inside?\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eOn a pallet, by freight, lowered on a liftgate, at the curb — which is where a freight rate ends. From there it is two people and a stair-climbing dolly, or a crew we can quote you for, who will bring it in and place it. Twenty-eight inches of width will clear a standard front door but is tight through an interior one, and the staircase turn is what to measure next.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eWhy is inside delivery an extra charge?\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eBecause of the weight, and only because of the weight. At 358 pounds this travels on a pallet by freight truck, and a freight rate buys the truck and the liftgate — not the hour of labor it takes to walk a quarter-ton cabinet from the road into a room. That hour is bought from a crew, so it is quoted separately. The same cabinet at eighty pounds would come by van and be carried in by one person, at no extra cost to anyone.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eIs the California listing current?\u003c\/b\u003e\u003cbr\u003eBarska state the FV-2000 is approved by the California Department of Justice for storage. The Department publishes its own certified list and revises it from time to time, so check it against the day you buy rather than taking a listing's word for it — ours included. We are glad to point you at it.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch2\u003eDelivery\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eWhy it comes by freight, and why the last fifty feet is priced apart from it\u003c\/b\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eAt 358 pounds this is past what a parcel carrier will take — UPS and FedEx stop at 150 pounds a package. So it travels the way heavy goods travel: strapped to a pallet, on an LTL freight truck, priced by weight and by the share of the trailer it occupies.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eWhat the freight rate buys is a truck to your address and a liftgate to lower the pallet to the road. The driver stays with the vehicle. That is the service the rate is written around, and it is the same for every pallet on the truck.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eEverything past the curb is a second job, done by hand. A cabinet this heavy cannot be carried; it is walked on a stair-climbing dolly by two or three people with floor protection down, and every threshold, step and turn adds time. That labor is bought from a crew by the hour rather than from the carrier by the mile, which is why it is quoted rather than folded into the price. The weight is the whole of the reason — the same cabinet at eighty pounds would arrive in a van and be carried in by one person.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eWhat is included\u003c\/b\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003eCurbside, residential.\u003c\/i\u003e The pallet is lowered at the end of your driveway on a liftgate. Moving it from there is yours to arrange, so have the people and the equipment in place before the truck comes.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003eCurbside, business.\u003c\/i\u003e Delivered to the nearest accessible point — a loading dock, or the curb. Moving it into the building is yours to arrange.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eThe carrier delivers on a pallet. Unboxing, breakdown of the freight and removal of packaging are not part of a curbside delivery.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eWhat we can quote you for\u003c\/b\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003eInside delivery, ground floor.\u003c\/i\u003e The crew brings it just inside the first door — a foyer, a garage, a lobby. It does not cover floors above or below the level the truck can reach.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003eWhite glove, ground floor.\u003c\/i\u003e The crew brings it inside, places it in the room of your choice, unpacks it, protects your floors on the way through and takes the packaging away with them.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003eWrite to us before you order with your address and where the cabinet is to stand, and we will come back with a figure. Bolting it to the floor is a separate matter — drilling into a structure is a contractor's work, and a crew that will do it does so under its own license. Tell us if you want it anchored and we will ask when we quote.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cb style=\"mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;\"\u003eFreight terms\u003c\/b\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003eWhere we ship.\u003c\/i\u003e The lower 48 states. This one does not travel to Alaska, Hawaii or the territories.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003eContact details.\u003c\/i\u003e A working phone number is needed at checkout. The carrier uses it to arrange the appointment, and we use it if anything about the delivery needs settling first.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003eDelivery time.\u003c\/i\u003e Allow 7 to 14 business days. The carrier will contact you before delivery to schedule a time.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003ci style=\"mso-bidi-font-style: normal;\"\u003eInspection.\u003c\/i\u003e Look at the shipment before you sign the proof of delivery. If anything is damaged or missing, note it on the POD, photograph it, and write to us the same day.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp class=\"MsoNormal\"\u003e\u003cstrong\u003ePlease read our full return policy on our site\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003c\/div\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e \u003c\/p\u003e","brand":"Barska","offers":[{"title":"Default Title","offer_id":46798661058639,"sku":"B2734P255703","price":2627.95,"currency_code":"USD","in_stock":true}],"thumbnail_url":"\/\/cdn.shopify.com\/s\/files\/1\/0717\/9377\/0575\/files\/ba976f47c12f936f173c232cb54a11c2.jpg?v=1789662045","url":"https:\/\/vaultandvigil.com\/products\/11-87-cubic-ft-tall-fireproof-safe-vault","provider":"Vault \u0026 Vigil","version":"1.0","type":"link"}